Skip to main content

GC earns honor for excellence in student success

Grayson College was one of 10 colleges that was named an Achieving the Dream Leader College of Distinction today. The college received this distinction for achieving new, higher student outcomes and narrowing equity gaps. ATD created the Leader College of Distinction award in 2018 to recognize colleges that have continued striving to meet challenging student success goals, often earning Leader College status several times.

“Our work with Achieving the Dream is integral in removing barriers and encouraging student success,” Grayson College President Dr. Jeremy McMillen said. “The team challenges each other to move the needle, and having our efforts recognized by such a distinguished organization is humbling.”

Leader Colleges of Distinction must show improvement in three measures, including a lagging indicator like completion, while Leader Colleges must show improvement in two student outcome measures. Leader Colleges of Distinction are also required to show they have shrunk performance discrepancies in at least two metrics between groups disaggregated by gender, race/ethnicity, or socioeconomic status.

“Accelerating improvement in student success outcomes is difficult work and requires a sustained commitment from the entire college community,” President and CEO of Achieving the Dream Dr. Karen A. Stout said. “Small but national recognitions like this one are important for affirming and applauding the often unsung and behind the scenes work of these institutions.”

During an awards luncheon, the college was also one of three institutions to receive special recognition for showing remarkable growth in increasing student success as part of our work with Achieving the Dream. The college was recognized for its increasing completion and equity outcomes in early momentum metrics.

Achieving the Dream (ATD) leads a growing network of 277 community colleges committed to helping their students, particularly low-income students and students of color, achieve their goals for academic success, personal growth, and economic opportunity.

The 2019 cohort of Leader Colleges of Distinction are:

  • Alamo Colleges District (TX) 2020 Leah Meyer Austin award winner
  • Austin Community College District (TX)
  • Brazosport College (TX)
  • Columbus State Community College (OH) 2019 Leah Meyer Austin award winner
  • Grayson College (TX)
  • Harper College (IL) 2016 Leah Meyer Austin award winner
  • Montgomery County Community College (PA) 2014 Leah Meyer Austin award winner
  • Northern Virginia Community College (VA)
  • Porterville Community College (CA)
  • San Jacinto College (TX)
  • West Hills College Lemoore (CA)