Skip to main content

PTK chapter wins elections, awards

Two Grayson College sophomores were elected to international and regional leadership positions for Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society recently. The elections took place in April at the organization’s joint Regional and International Convention.

Elizabeth Taylor of Denison, formerly of Whitesboro, is one of five members of PTK’s International Officer Team. Her responsibilities include helping run two international conferences, including Honors Institute in June and International Convention next April. She also travels to various regional conferences to provide members with important updates from Phi Theta Kappa headquarters about society programs and member opportunities.

“Being an international officer is the highest pinnacle of leadership for PTK, which has 260,000 active members,” said Mary Linder, GC government professor and PTK adviser.

A nursing major at Grayson, Taylor participates in GC’s Honors College. She serves as vice president of special projects for GC’s Omicron Psi Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and is a member of the Grayson Student Association. She also traveled to Washington, D.C., as a member of GC’s delegation to the National Model United Nations Conference.

Brandon Robinson of Bells is the new District II vice president. He along with five other regional officers form PTK’s leadership team for the Texas Region. He helps plan and conduct three regional conferences, each of which is attended by 400-500 members. He also runs several district meetings for the 19 chapters that comprise the Texas Region.

An accounting major, Robinson is president of GC’s PTK chapter and Honors College. He also is public relations officer for the Grayson College Gay-Straight Alliance.

“I cannot express how proud I am of these two students for taking on these leadership roles,” said Linder. “I know they are up for the challenge and will represent well both Grayson College and Phi Theta Kappa.”

Robinson and Taylor also were named District II Hall of Honor recipients along with Jana Henderson and Michael Moore. Linder, who also serves as District II coordinator for the Texas Region, received the Regional Coordinator’s Award and PTK International’s Continued Excellence Award for Advisors.

GC’s Omicron Psi chapter received the Texas Top Chapter Award. It ranked fourth of the 18 chapters honored in the region. Other Texas Region honors include: Michaela Bledsoe, Hall of Honor for Members; Jesus Sosa, Hall of Honor for Alumni; Tenna Matthews, GC theatre professor, Tejas Award for someone who is neither a member or advisor but gives tremendous support to a local chapter and the region); Five Star Chapter Award (highest level earned for a chapter development plan); Honors in Action and College Project Participation; Honors in Action Award of Distinction; and College Project Award of Merit.

At the international level, George Melchor received the Alumni Award of Appreciation. Omicron Psi garnered the Distinguished Chapter Award as one of the top 34 chapters in PTK and the Top 100 Chapter Award as one of the top 100 chapters in the society; Distinguished College Project Award; and Distinguished Honors in Actions Project Award.